101 in 1001 Challenge   4 comments

It’s taking me literally forever to make my 101 list. I didn’t realize it would be so hard! I’m trying to keep it realistic yet challenging. This is all I have so far!

 

The Challenge:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on your part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple challenges such as New Year’s resolutions or a ‘Bucket List’. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips, study semesters, or outdoor activities.

Underlined items link to other posts.

Items in italics are in progress.

Hatched items are complete. (Completion date in parenthesis following.)

Started: January 6th, 2010

Ending: October 4th, 2013

My list in no particular order (because that’s how I do things!)

1. Make a blog

2. Blog on it!

3. Pick a book to read out loud with the 2 middle kids each month. 1/30

4. Switch the whole family over to http://www.shetlermilk.com/.  1-14-11

5. Knit hats for 3 friends and actually give the hat to them! 1/3

6. Clean out the junk drawer 1-10-11

7. Use the spaetzle maker

8. Go to a playgroup

9. Take the kids to Great Wolf Lodge 1-19-11 and 1-26-11

10. Take the kids camping with the pop-up atleast 5 times. 0/5

11. Make a geocache

12. Help each child make their own geocache 0/4

13. Throughly clean out the van once a month 0/30

14. Throughly clean out the car once a month 0/30

15. Visit the Sand Dunes

16. Visit Mackinaw Island

17. Make halloween costumes for the kids 0/4

18. Learn to knit socks on the loom

19. Make socks for 3 friends. 0/3

20. Put pictures in my new picture collage frame

21. Find a way to organize each child’s outdoor gear.

22. Plan a big party for Chase turning 13

23. Holiday pictures taken each winter 0/2

24. Teach Coben to swim

25. Teach Coben to ride a bike with out training wheels

26. Sign Kylie up for Gymnastics 1-11-11

27. Sign Coben up for Gymnastics 1-11-11

28. Sign Avery up for Gymnastics

29. Sign Chase up for College for Kids 0/2

30. Sign Kylie up for College for Kids 0/2

31. Sign Coben up for College for Kids 0/2

32. Teach Avery to ride a tricycle

33. Buy a baby bike seat or trailer

34. Blog about being a Foster Parent

35. Make a slide show with music for grandparents christmas present

36. Take the kids to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

37. Read Parenting with Love and Logic

38. Read Parenting Teen with Love and Logic

39. Visit Alaska

40. Donate $20 per child to http://reecesrainbow.org/ each year 0/8

41. Knit 20 hats for the nicu 0/20

42. Sign Chase up for Snowboard club each year 1/2

43. Organize Avery’s toys so that she will be capable of choosing and putting it away on her own by 18 mos.

44. Learn how to can.

45. Take a photography class.

46. Buy a nice digital camera.

I’ll add on as I think of more…..

Posted January 29, 2011 by paysumattn2 in Uncategorized

4 responses to “101 in 1001 Challenge

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really enjoy your blog! You forgot to add canning :-). The blue loom, the one you make NICU hats with, is good for adult socks. There is a peach colored loom that is advertised for making flowers, and it is good for kids socks. So I have been told, as I have not done socks YET. Looking forward to hearing of your progress with this list.

  2. Yay! I can help you with #17! And canning. Were you at the market this AM? I think we drove right by you.

  3. I like your list so far! I want to start canning again…I used to with my mom!
    I am reading the love and logic books, and if you are interested there is a class at my church on Wednesday nights, in March and it’s only like $20 a couple.
    I think I have take a photography class on mine too! Maybe we can do it together 🙂

Leave a comment